Mistful Are Our Waiting Eyes

Mistful are our waiting eyes

Author: Samuel J. Stone (1866)
Tune: REDHEAD NO. 76
Published in 1 hymnal

Printable scores: PDF, MusicXML
Audio files: MIDI

Representative Text

1. Mistful are our waiting eyes,
As of them who saw Him rise
From that mountain to the skies.
Then the holy angels near
Gave them tidings of good cheer:
Jesus shall again appear.

2. And we wait an angel’s cry,
Piercing earthward from the sky:
Now, behold your Lord is nigh!
Yet, who shall abide that day,
When the Judge with dread array
Comes for universal sway?

3. Dreadly shall His summons sweep,
Heard by those who wake or sleep,
On the height or in the deep:
Heard by Life ’mid all its bloom,
Heard by Death in every tomb—
Terrible decree of doom.

4. For the gathered souls who stand,
Waiting that supreme command,
He shall part on either hand.
To those souls of quick and dead,
Come, shall be the blessing said,
Go, shall be the cursing dread.

5. Lord, dwell in us now, we pray,
That, in the dividing day,
We be not the cast away!
So shall we till Thou appear
Blend, in longing eye and ear,
Holy joy with holy fear!

Author: Samuel J. Stone

Stone, Samuel John, a clergyman of the Church of England, the son of Rev. William Stone, was born at Whitmore, Staffordshire, April 25, 1839. He was educated at Pembroke College, Oxford, where he was graduated B.A. in 1862. Later he took orders and served various Churches. He succeeded his father at St. Paul's, Haggerstown, in 1874. He was the author of many original hymns and translations, which were collected and published in 1886. His hymns are hopeful in spirit and skillfully constructed. He published several poetic volumes. He died November 19, 1900 --Hymn Writers of the Church, 1915 (Charles Nutter)… Go to person page >

Text Information

First Line: Mistful are our waiting eyes
Title: Mistful Are Our Waiting Eyes
Author: Samuel J. Stone (1866)
Source: Lyra Fi­del­i­um; Twelve Hymns of the Twelve Ar­ti­cles of the Apos­tle’s Creed (Lon­don: Messrs. Park­er and Com­pa­ny, 1866), alt.
Language: English
Copyright: Public Domain



REDHEAD 76 is named for its composer, who published it as number 76 in his influential Church Hymn Tunes, Ancient and Modern (1853) as a setting for the hymn text "Rock of Ages." It has been associated with Psalm 51 since the 1912 Psalter, where the tune was named AJALON. The tune is also known as P…

Go to tune page >


The Cyber Hymnal #4277
  • Adobe Acrobat image (PDF)
  • Noteworthy Composer score (NWC)
  • XML score (XML)


Instances (1 - 1 of 1)

The Cyber Hymnal #4277

Suggestions or corrections? Contact us