81. The Beatitudes

The Beatitudes, the Beatitudes,
Sermon on the mountain top.
Blessed, O blessed.

1 Blessed are the poor in spirit
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

2 Blessed are they that mourn
for they shall be comforted.

3 Blessed are the meek
for they shall be filled.

4 Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst
after righteousness.

For they shall be filled.

5 Blessed are the merciful
for they shall obtain mercy.

6 Blessed are the pure in heart
for they shall see God.

7 Blessed are the peacemakers
for they shall be called children of God.

8 Blessed are they which are persecuted
for righteousness.

For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are ye when men shall revile you
and say all manner of evil against you,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Amen amen.

Text Information
First Line: The Beatitudes, the Beatitudes
Title: The Beatitudes
Author: Mattie Moss Clark
Language: English
Publication Date: 1982
Topic: Choir Selections; Comfort
Tune Information
Name: [The Beatitudes, the Beatitudes]
Composer: Mattie Moss Clark
Key: C Major

Suggestions or corrections? Contact us