4260. The Mighty God, Jehovah, Speaks

1. The mighty God, Jehovah, speaks
And calls the earth from sea to sea;
From beauteous Zion God shines forth,
He comes and will not silent be;
Devouring flame before Him goes,
And dark the tempest round Him grows.

2. He calls aloud to Heaven and earth
That He may justly judge His own:
My chosen saints together bring
Who sacrifice to Me alone;
The heav’ns His righteousness declare,
For God Himself as judge is there.

3. Hear, O My people, I will speak,
Against thee I will testify;
Give ear to Me, O Israel,
For God, thy covenant God, am I;
I do not spurn thy sacrifice,
Thy offerings are before My eyes.

4. I will receive from out thy fold
No offering for My holy shrine;
The cattle on a thousand hills
And all the forest beasts are Mine;
Each mountain bird to Me is known,
Whatever roams the field I own.

5. Behold, if I should hungry grow,
I would not tell My need to thee,
For all the world itself is Mine,
And all its wealth belongs to Me;
Why should I aught of thee receive,
My thirst or hunger to relieve?

6. Bring thou to God the gifts of thanks,
And pay thy vows to God Most High;
Call ye upon My holy name
In days when sore distress is nigh;
Deliverance I will send to thee,
And praises thou shalt give to Me.

Text Information
First Line: The mighty God, Jehovah, speaks
Title: The Mighty God, Jehovah, Speaks
Author: Anonymous
Meter: 88.88.88
Language: English
Source: From The Psalter (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania: The United Presbyterian Board of Publication, 1912), number 137
Copyright: Public Domain
Notes: Words from Psalm 50
Tune Information
Composer (attributed to): Dimitri Stephanovich Bortniansky (1825)
Meter: 88.88.88
Incipit: 53451 21715 61653
Key: C Major
Copyright: Public Domain

Adobe Acrobat image: Adobe Acrobat image
(Cyber Hymnal)
MIDI file: MIDI File
(Cyber Hymnal)
Noteworthy Composer score: Noteworthy Composer score
(Cyber Hymnal)
XML score: XML score
More media are available on the text authority and tune authority pages.

Suggestions or corrections? Contact us