2816. I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say

1. I heard the voice of Jesus say,
Come unto Me and rest;
Lay down, thou weary one, lay down
Thy head upon My breast.
I came to Jesus as I was,
weary and worn and sad;
I found in Him a resting place,
and He has made me glad.

2. I heard the voice of Jesus say,
Behold, I freely give
The living water; thirsty one,
stoop down, and drink, and live.
I came to Jesus, and I drank
of that life giving stream;
My thirst was quenched, my soul revived,
and now I live in Him.

3. I heard the voice of Jesus say,
I am this dark world’s Light;
Look unto Me, thy morn shall rise,
and all thy day be bright.
I looked to Jesus, and I found
in Him my Star, my Sun;
And in that light of life I’ll walk,
till traveling days are done.

4. I heard the voice of Jesus say,
My Father’s house above
Has many mansions; I’ve a place
prepared for you in love.
I trust in Jesus—in that house,
according to His word,
Redeemed by grace, my soul shall live
forever with the Lord.

Text Information
First Line: I heard the voice of Jesus say
Title: I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say
Author: Horatius Bonar (1846)
Meter: CMD
Language: English
Source: Hymns Original and Selected, 1846
Copyright: Public Domain
Notes: Alternate tunes: ATHENS, Felice de Giardini, 1716-1796; BONAR (BRUNK), John D. Brunk, 1911; CLARK'S GROVE, William A. Ogden, 1872; KINGSFOLD, arranged by Ralph Vaughan Williams, 1906; TRUMAN, Joseph P. Holbrook, 1822-1888
Tune Information
Composer: John Bacchus Dykes (1868)
Meter: CMD
Incipit: 55117 33721 11175
Key: g minor
Copyright: Public Domain
Notes: The key change halfway through accents the positive message of the last two lines, "I came to Jesus..."

Adobe Acrobat image: Adobe Acrobat image
(Cyber Hymnal)
MIDI file: MIDI File
(Cyber Hymnal)
Noteworthy Composer score: Noteworthy Composer score
(Cyber Hymnal)
XML score: XML score
More media are available on the text authority and tune authority pages.

Suggestions or corrections? Contact us